First, you need to complete a Driver Education course, either an on-line course or one taught by a licensed instructor. If your schedule necessitates taking an on-line course, we recommend, Welcomedriver.com.
When you have completed the course, a certificate of completion will be issued which you can take to the DMV to take the written test for your Provisional Permit if you are at least 15 1/2. You will also need to take several things to the DMV: the DMV application (DL44), a registered copy of your birth certificate (the one with your baby picture doesn’t work!), you will pay a nonrefundable application fee, and your parent(s) or guardian(s) signature must be on the application. You will also need to write your social security number on the application or take the card with you as proof you are who you say you are.
It is illegal to drive on a Provisional Permit before completion of the first driving lesson. Once you have your permit, call us ASAP to set up your first lesson.
Yes, it is true, if you received a Provisional Driver’s License, which means you’re less than 18 years of age! Once you have your provisional DL, you may drive alone, as long as you do not have any collisions or traffic violations on your driving record. During the first 12 months after you are licensed, you cannot transport passengers under 20 years of age, unless you are accompanied by a California licensed parent or guardian, a California licensed driver 25 years old or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor. Passengers in motor vehicles driven by newly licensed drivers (regardless of age) are a distraction and the probability of an accident occurring goes up exponentially with each passenger in the vehicle.
Yes, if you received a Provisional Driver’s License, you cannot drive between 11 pm and 5 am for 12 months. The reason for this law is that these are the hours that teens are most likely to be involved in a collision. Death and injury rates have gone down in California since these laws were enacted (2006). Check out the specifications from the California Driver Handbook under, “The Examination Process-Minors’ Driver License Requirements, “
Abiding by these restrictions gives a minor the opportunity to concentrate on the task of driving and has shown to save lives. Check out the Institute for Highway Safety at iihs.org
Yes, but not really. There are four exceptions
- A medical necessity-note signed by a physician with the diagnosis and probable date of recovery
- A school or school-authorized activity note must be signed by the school principal, dean or designee* (liability would be first on the school, so this just doesn’t happen)
- Employment note must be signed by the employer verifying employment (California State Law prohibits employees under the age of 18 to operate a motor vehicle for work-see: www.dir.ca.gov/dise/childlaborlaw pamphlet)
- And last the broadest exception… The necessity to drive an immediate family member. It needs to be a note signed by a parent or legal guardian is required including the reason and end date. It must be a necessity, not a convenience! In reality, a note will not keep a minor from the consequences or out of court if a collision occurs, especially involving injury or death nor will it keep one from receiving a ticket.
For the exact wording on exceptions, go to: Exceptions – Minors’ Driver License Restrictions from the CA Handbook.